What is Midwest Student Exchange Program

What is Midwest Student Exchange Program
What is Midwest Student Exchange Program

The Midwest Student Exchange Program, or MSEP, is a tuition reimbursement program for students from multiple states. The MSEP requires public universities to charge students 150 percent of the in-state resident tuition cost for particular programs, while private colleges offer a 10% tuition reduction. The Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) seeks to improve access to post-secondary education through the Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP).

Through the program, out-of-state students can find more affordable options for their education. MSEP is the largest multi-state tuition reciprocity program in the Midwest, with more than 100 colleges and universities participating across Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.


What States are in Midwest Student Exchange Program?



Illinois Board of Higher Education.
The Illinois Board of Higher Education is a state government agency that oversees higher education in the U.S. state of Illinois. The IBHE was created in 1961.



Indiana Commission for Higher Education.
The Commission for Higher Education is charged with coordinating higher education in Indiana. The Indiana Board for Proprietary Education – administered, staffed, and led by the Commission for Higher Education – is a 7-member public body created in 2012.



Michigan Association of State Universities.
The Michigan Association of State Universities (MASU) serves as the coordinating board for Michigan’s 15 public universities, providing advocacy and fostering policy to maximize the collective value these institutions provide in helping the public interest and the state of Michigan.



Kansas Board of Regents.
The Kansas Board of Regents consists of nine members that govern six state universities in the U.S. state of Kansas. In addition to these six universities, it also supervises and coordinates nineteen community colleges, five technical colleges, six technical schools and a municipal university.



Minnesota Office of Higher Education.
The Minnesota Office of Higher Education is an executive branch agency responsible for coordinating higher education information, financial aid programs, statistics, and policy in the U.S. state of Minnesota.



Missouri Department of Higher Education & Workforce Development.
Workforce Development and the Missouri Economic Research and Information Center under the Department of Higher Education. The department transformation became legally effective on Aug. 28, 2019, when Governor Parson signed Executive Order 19-15 to form the Missouri Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development.



Nebraska’s Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
Nebraska’s Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education with increased duties and responsibilities. Those duties and responsibilities now include creating and putting into action a comprehensive statewide plan to guide Nebraska’s higher education system
Partnering with legislators to develop innovative and results-driven higher education policy. Helping low-income Nebraska students attend college by awarding need-based financial aid and creating a state financial assistance strategy.



North Dakota University System
The North Dakota University System is the public system of higher education and policy coordination entity in the U.S. state of North Dakota. The system includes all public institutions in the state, including two research universities, four regional universities and five community colleges.



Ohio Department of Higher Education
The Ohio Department of Higher Education coordinates all higher education in Ohio, allocates funds to higher education institutions, initiates and oversees the implementation of workforce development and adult education programs, assures the seamless credit transfer process between all public institutions, increases the economic competitiveness of the state, and works to increase enrollment in Ohio institutions by promoting the University System of Ohio throughout the world.



Wisconsin Technical College System
Wisconsin Technical College System is a system of 16 public technical colleges administered by the state of Wisconsin. The system offers more than 500 programs, awarding two-year associate degrees, two-year technical diplomas, and short-term technical diplomas and certificates.